RSS Feed

judgment

Posted on

Okay. I have to say this. It really bugs me when cyclists signal a right-hand turn with their right arm.

Think about it.  NOBODY can see you when you do that! you are signalling meaninglessly, because the motorists behind you might be watching for your signal, but they’re not going to be able to see the arm furthest away from them, near the curb! really.

Always, when riding on the right hand side of the road (which we do here in Canada, everywhere) , signal with your left hand. the proper signal for a right turn is left arm extended, bent up to an “L shape” — like you’re pledging allegiance to something, only you’re not, you’re just telling the people behind you (clearly, without mumbling, which is what signalling with your right hand is like), what you are about to do.

it’s much better road conduct. also,  I have judgments about people who don’t signal properly.Negative ones. nobody likes that, do they?

That is all.

About easilyriled

My mom was Edith, my dad was John. I have a brother, who is Shawn. I have many friends and allies and mentors in my life. I'm white, over-educated, under-employed, messy, funny, smart, lesbian, feminist "Not the fun kind", as Andrea Dworkin said. But I, like the feminists I hang with, ARE fun. I play accordion better than I did, and i'm learning the concertina. Slowly.

6 responses »

  1. I totally agree. I rarely if ever see any cyclists signal. Plus they don’t wear helmets, don’t have reflectors anywhere on their bike or on their clothing. I think cops should be giving out more fines for these infractions. These cyclist are a hazard on our roads. If we are going to have all these bike lanes (which I am for) at least we should have cyclist who abide by the rules of the road!

    Reply
    • Hello, Friend! I don’t agree that policing is the answer to hazardous cyclists, but it does kinda worry me the lack of helmets and so on. I’d almost rather NO signal than signaling with the right hand, that bugs me nearly as much as words with l’s, b’s and s’s all in a bunch bug me. but in a different way, obviously.

      Reply
  2. culturally engrained on signaling with the “wrong hand”……

    Reply
    • When driving on the left hand side of the road, then signalling with the left is the wrong hand. When driving on the right hand side of the road, as we do here, then signalling with the right is the wrong hand. The drivers behind you cannot see your signal as well. so, that’s how the cultural practice is ingrained, I guess, eh?

      Reply
  3. I always try for the middle of the road….

    Reply
    • yea! that’s a good policy. though when i’m driving i am annoyed at cyclists who do this. not when i’m riding. unless the cyclist is not pedaling. Which a lot of cyclists also do, coast along, as if riding a bike is a relaxing past time. pah.
      and on another entirely unrelated topic, it would appear from the explosion of shouting and noises in my neighbourhood, that the Canucks have won the game and will remain bearded for a few more weeks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

