RSS Feed

candidate. heh.

So, yesterday i sent another draft of my phd proposal to my committee and they said, “okay, you’re good.” so right there, just under the wire, I am a PhD candidate! oh joy. that means that i can now apply for an ethics review, draw up an interview schedule, scare up folks to interview and spend hours in archives and transcribing and coding and shit.Yay!

i mean it, i’m excited about this. It’s kind of a big deal. I can teach now, for example. set in motion the plans for my finishing school! yea. “EasilyRiled’s school for Young Ladies. Specializing in powerlifting, posture and incendiary actions against the patriarchy”

send me your daughters.

About easilyriled

My mom was Edith, my dad was John. I have a brother, who is Shawn. I have many friends and allies and mentors in my life. I'm white, over-educated, under-employed, messy, funny, smart, lesbian, feminist "Not the fun kind", as Andrea Dworkin said. But I, like the feminists I hang with, ARE fun. I play accordion better than I did, and i'm learning the concertina. Slowly.

8 responses »

  1. Wahoooo! I’ll send you my sisters : )

    Reply
  2. Congratulations! I hope I’m not too old to join the Easy Riled’s School for Young Ladies hahaha :p

    Two years until I finish my bachelor and then I get to start working towards that PHD 😉

    Reply
    • Never too old, Aileen. Be good, in fact, if you’d bring your brilliance over here and teach at that there finishing school. won’t be finishing girls–‘finishing with the patriarchy’, rather.
      xo

      Reply
  3. CONGRATULATIONS!! That’s great news, easilyriled! Teaching is a wonderful, and hopefully very fulfilling, profession. Can’t wait to hear more about your progression towards that PhD!

    Reply
    • Thanks, UP. it’s not that exciting so far…but it sure feels good to have stumbled across that line. you know how it is, eh, to be running up hill? just keep going and don’t look up…
      my problem, so far, is that I look over there, and there, and ‘hey! there’s a shiny thing!’–good lord. bird by bird…
      xo

      Reply
    • thanks, UP. I’m pretty chuffed.
      xo

      Reply
  4. congratulations! I’m in the process of finishing my thesis now – I’ve really enjoyed myself and developed during the time.

    best of luck! xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

