RSS Feed

ferries

Posted on

ahhh. i’m going to the island. for two whole days. I’m going to be with L, my favourite friend and most exceptional sisterbuddy. I don’t know how to name our relationship. we were friends, colleagues in the glorious revolution, co-workers, lovers–we will always be in each others’ lives. no matter what.

here i go! ferry trip! i love ferry trips. they’re sort of like the bus, but the view is nicer and it smells better. also it is not necessary to wear earplugs the WHOLE time, as it is on a bus trip. I notice not everyone wears earplugs on public transportation. But so long as I do, everyone is safer…

anyhow. farmers market, swimming in rivers or oceans or both, fresh fish to eat, freerangeorganicshadegrownbirdfriendlynongmohandcraftedfairlytradeddolphinfriendly farmers market or backyard veggies, two cats to sneeze at, maybe fresh cherries but it might be too early. cribbage games at night, laughing telling stories about parents and lovers and friends from way back and all of that. all of that.

Louise and me. Everyone should have one friend who is to them what Louise and I are to each other. then the world would be closer to fine.

Once, I had a neighbour, Pearl. She was a bit ‘tetched’. I could tell because she dressed in a million layers of clothes in the middle of summer– except for evenings, when she leaned out her bedroom window, naked and smoking and watching the world go by. One day I saw her on her way to the grocery store, and she asked how my cat was doing (Stuart liked to escape my apartment and go roaming about the hallways–sometimes she would go visit Pearl on her travels down the halls). Pearl said to me, “you know, if everyone took care of one cat, one dog, one bird, one young person and one old person, the world would be a better place.”

Not so crazy, my neighbour Pearl.

life is good.

About easilyriled

My mom was Edith, my dad was John. I have a brother, who is Shawn. I have many friends and allies and mentors in my life. I'm white, over-educated, under-employed, messy, funny, smart, lesbian, feminist "Not the fun kind", as Andrea Dworkin said. But I, like the feminists I hang with, ARE fun. I play accordion better than I did, and i'm learning the concertina. Slowly.

Leave a Reply

