RSS Feed

fucking ipods

Posted on

I’m really nervous and PISSED OFF about Mp3 players. Not only are they evil, anti-social brain-scramblers and damaging to the hearing of the wearer; they are also really fucking annoying to hear while not wearing one. it’s way too easy for the wearer to just let the volume creep up and creep up until you are completely immersed in sound, and you can’t attend AT ALL the world around you and you don’t notice that your hearing is diminishing. Then one day, mark my words, you’re gonna be completely deaf. And you’re not gonna get a dog, either.

I wear earplugs when i’m on the bus. I call them my ‘homicide prevention kit’. So far i have not killed anyone. But when i’m in the gym, that’s another story. I want to attend to my workout with all of my senses, including hearing, so I don’t wear earplugs.

Just because I CAN hear all the stuff that’s going on around me, doesn’t mean I WANT to hear it. Especially the misogynist fucking rock n roll ‘hump yo mama’ bullshit rap whatever it is that ‘helps you focus’. No. i do NOT like the rolling stones. or Metallica. Or Two Bits (is that his name? ‘two bits?’ no, no, it’s twice that amount, 50 cent. that’s it…) especially as filtered through your (no doubt deteriorating) grey matter. turn that shit down. please.

I asked one big lug to please turn his music down and he sneered at me and said, “that’s so rude. it’s a public place. noise happens”. which is true. but it’s a public place, so people are going to ask each other for accommodation, too. I wonder if he woulda thought i was rude if I’d asked him to turn his music UP? i think i’ll try that. I don’t, after all, give a flying fuck about his hearing.

so i get all righteous about rude men. Then i remember one time, a number of years ago, when i was in the gym, loading up the leg press machine, and banging the plates against each other. A man asked me to please not bang the plates, he had a headache. I am ashamed to say, I was rude to him. I said, “i’m just trying to work out”. which is the same thing as saying, “That’s so rude. This is a public place. Noise happens.”

Always gotta watch myself. Payback comes. could be minutes, could be years, but it always comes.

I still hate ipods and their ilk, though. I’m gonna start carrying around scissors. heheheheh. “oh, jeez, i’m sorry, i guess I should keep my scissors to myself.”

About easilyriled

My mom was Edith, my dad was John. I have a brother, who is Shawn. I have many friends and allies and mentors in my life. I'm white, over-educated, under-employed, messy, funny, smart, lesbian, feminist "Not the fun kind", as Andrea Dworkin said. But I, like the feminists I hang with, ARE fun. I play accordion better than I did, and i'm learning the concertina. Slowly.

2 responses »

  1. Mp3 players are like like 21st century phylacteries. The kids never take them off, and often the music is so loud I can hear it myself — a sure sign of deafness encroaching upon an entire generation.

    Reply
  2. phylacteries! great word, Sarah–i’m gonna use it. heck, i might make one outta empty coffee-bean bags and twine and tuck my soul into it for safe-keeping. yes. deafness and even more social stupidity to boot. grim. I find wearing earplugs and humming to myself is just as dissociating as paying $200 for an ipod.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

