Had a dream last night. as i was about to wake, i dreamt that it was winter. I walked away from town. A fallow field of snow and ice, an abandoned building, a school, two stories, white-washed and boarded up, towered before me. sun glinted off the white of the schoolhouse, the white of the snow. i turned left and then it was spring. Now i walked easy through new golden wheat. it was soft against my legs. I heard a dog barking and i remembered–farmers don’t like it when people walk through the tender new growth of spring.  I didn’t see the dog, but turned and ran through the wheat the way I’d come, trying to not to break a new path.

I woke up to the news that the Red River is overflowing into Fargo, North Dakota. Again.

About easilyriled

My mom was Edith, my dad was John. I have a brother, who is Shawn. I have many friends and allies and mentors in my life. I'm white, over-educated, working in a field for which I am not yet trained, messy, funny, smart, lesbian, feminist "Not the fun kind", as Andrea Dworkin said. But I, like the feminists I hang with, ARE fun. Radical feminism will be the roots of our shared liberation. Rejection of sex-stereotypes (gender) and male domination will give us wings.

One response »

  1. Hey I like what you writ in the post above too about women, its so true…somehow it seems your dream encapsulates it all in a different way. we have to be brave enough to imagine, to make a new path, maybe not even in the field…far from our broken down boarded up pasts, yet mindful what we learnt and have to unlearn from them.

    Reply

Leave a comment